Wednesday, May 30, 2007

UltimateBet Brings Matt Savage On Board As Aruba Tournament Director

I'll be joining Matt in Aruba for the UltimateBet Aruba Classsic

May 30, 2007 – Nobody says “shuffle up and deal” quite like Matt Savage. And this fall, those words will be echoed from under a palm tree. today announced that the world’s leading tournament director is on board to oversee their signature 2007 Aruba Poker Classic tournament.

“We’re injecting the hottest poker tourney of the year with even more energy and excitement,” stated UltimateBet spokesperson George MacLean. “With the top tournament director signed on to help us give away an estimated $2.5 Million in prize money, online poker players have an unprecedented number of reasons to drop their jaws.”

To date, Savage has directed countless million-dollar tournaments including the WSOP and various WPT events. He has appeared on more than 300 televised poker shows on ESPN, GSN, Fox Sports, Travel Channel and other popular networks.

However, Savage’s credentials stretch far beyond just calling the shots on the poker room floor. In an effort to standardize tournament rules throughout the world, Savage founded the Tournament Directors Association. In 2003, he was inducted into the Poker Room Manager’s Hall of Fame as its very first member.

In order to secure Savage and return the tournament to its home at the Radisson Aruba Resort & Casino, the date of the weeklong tournament has been pushed back by one week. The 2007 Aruba Poker Classic will now be held from September 29th to October 6th.

The weeklong tournament gives online poker players the opportunity to celebrate their successes at the tables with their fellow poker players and with the industry’s best professionals. Past Aruba Poker Classic attendees have included Phil Hellmuth, Jennifer Tilly, Phil “The Unabomber” Laak, and Annie Duke. This year’s tournament is also attracting celebrities from the entertainment industry. Scott Ian from Anthrax has already secured a seat in this year’s event after winning VH1’s Rock Stars of Poker.

Online poker players can enter a series of freerolls or satellites to win an $8,500 Aruba prize package at The prize package includes the $5,500 main event seat and $3,000 for travel and accommodations.

In 2006, Devon Miller captured the title, taking home $774,960 in cash. This year, with an estimated 750 players in the tournament, the first place prize is expected to be significantly bigger.

For more information on the 2007 UltimateBet Aruba Poker Classic, visit

About UltimateBet
Designed with the assistance of the best poker players in the world - Phil Hellmuth and Annie Duke – UltimateBet provides the best poker games available on the Net. Players can download the free poker software, play in free ring games and tournaments and get tips from these pros to learn the sport or to enhance their playing strategy. UltimateBet currently has over 2 million registered players.

Source: Ultimate Bet Poker News

Related Articles: 2007 UltimateBet Aruba Poker Classic

No comments:

Post a Comment